Fair isle! A knitting bug has caught me, yes it has. Colour-work. I love-love-love intrinsicate colours that blend in with each other. And now that I’ve worked with stranded colour-work in knitting, I’ve been masmerized with how the colours change when they are woven intrinsically into each other.

Long time ago, I invested in a lot of Filcolana Lammeuld (Sheepswool). It’s a two-ply, running 600 meters in 100 grams of yarn. In other words, I’m a bit of knitting masochist, working a 40 inch, 240 stitches, full colourwork yoke cardigan! But fear not for my sanity, for I have already worked almost the entire body of the sweater.
IMG_7036
My camera fails to capture colours properly, but I can attest that my (usually quite uninterested husband) enthused that it was incredibly beautiful! So I’m not completely off my mark. Also, I need to add another half inch before I join with the sleeves. I want a long, cosy and snug sweater.
I also tried my first hand at duplicate stitch. It worked just fine.
IMG_6947
The duplicate stitch is the light blue running across the yellow area.
Oh, and an extra note on the construction. I am making a plain turned hem (keeping of interest from my somewhat generous hip-area). Since gauge is generally tighter in stranded colourwork, I compensated by first casting on 216 stitches, working the plain turned hem, then adding 24 extra stitches as I began the colourwork, so I had a total of 240 st. The clever reader will have noticed that I’m calling this a cardigan. It will become a cardigan once it’s been steeked (shriek!). This is also an (almost) first-timer for me. Since I’m new to this, I am going to use Eunny Jang’s wonderful and detailed tutorial on steeking and colourwork.

Now for sleeves! I think I will work a little interest around the cuffs, but keep them plain up above the elbow, where I will begin colour-work again. I hate to admit it, but my inspiration for this style is inspired by… Posh Spice!

Oh, I tried on the body of the sweater and it fits like a (well-fitted) glove. I can only thank my generous swatch:
IMG_6865 - Kopi
IMG_6822 - Kopi

This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

