The blog has been sleeping! But that does not mean I’m not being creative – far from it! I’m currently unemployed, and in between finding a place to work, I make a lot of beautiful things. Both needles and sewing machine have found use, and now I will show you, my faithful and invisible audience, pictures of just that.

I find that my inspiration for new creations come from fabrics and colours. And just so, this skirt emerged from my imagination:
IMG_7039
The fabric was given to me by my dear old grandmother, left-overs from drapes that hung in an old house of theirs. I love the bold, big flowers and the colours that are cool and a little over-the-top. I didn’t use a pattern for this, just good old math and a tape-measure. I made nine panels, raced them together and used elastic fabric for the upper band. It turns out the elasticity is not tight enough, so it kind of hangs on my body. At some point I might go and do something about that. But not now. It gets a lot of wear, so I can forgive its flaws.

This entry was posted in family, sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. Jane says:

    I love curtain skirts, and this is a lovely example!

Leave a Reply

